Michigan House Democrat Switches to GOP

40 Democrats Have Joined Republican Party Since 2010

May 16, 2012 – Washington, DC – Following Michigan Democratic State Representative Roy Schmidt’s decision yesterday to seek re-election as a Republican this November, a total of 40 state legislators have now made the switch from the Democratic Party to the Republican Party since 2010.

“As the Democratic Party moves further and further to the Left, common sense legislators who are focused on creating jobs, balancing budgets and enacting positive reform are increasingly making the switch to the Republican Party,” said GOPAC Chairman Frank Donatelli. “2010 was a historic year for Republican gains in state legislatures, and with the continuing shift by Democrats to the GOP, 2012 may prove to be as equally significant.”

“With Representative Schmidt’s decision to join the GOP, the Democrats can go ahead and concede defeat toward gaining a majority in the Michigan legislature this November,” said GOPAC President David Avella. “The Democrats’ offering of no jobs, no hope and no plans is finally coming to roost.”

GOPAC is the premier center for educating and electing the next generation of Republican leaders to state and local government.

2010-2012 State Legislative Party Switchers
(as of May 16, 2012)

  • Representative Alan Boothe – Alabama House
  • Representative Alan Harper – Alabama House
  • Representative Steve Hurst – Alabama House
  • Representative Mike Millican – Alabama House
  • Representative Lesley Vance – Alabama House
  • Representative Linda Collins-Smith – Arkansas House
  • Senator Tim Golden – Georgia Senate
  • Representative Ellis Black – Georgia House
  • Representative Amy Carter – Georgia House
  • Representative Mike Cheokas – Georgia House
  • Representative Bubber Epps – Georgia House
  • Representative Gerald Greene – Georgia House
  • Representative Bob Hanner – Georgia House
  • Representative Doug McKillip – Georgia House
  • Representative Alan Powell – Georgia House
  • Senator Chris Steineger – Kansas Senate
  • Senator John Alario – Louisiana Senate
  • Senator Jody Amedee – Louisiana Senate
  • Senator Norby Chabert – Louisiana Senate
  • Senator John Smith – Louisiana Senate
  • Representative Billy Chandler – Louisiana House
  • Representative Taylor Barras – Louisiana House
  • Representative Charles R. Chaney – Louisiana House
  • Representative Noble Ellington – Louisiana House
  • Representative Walker Hines – Louisiana House
  • Representative Fred Mills – Louisiana House
  • Representative Michael Willette – Maine House
  • Representative Roy Schmidt – Michigan House
  • Senator Ezell Lee – Mississippi Senate
  • Senator Cindy Hyde-Smith – Mississippi Senate
  • Senator Gray Tollison – Mississippi Senate
  • Representative Donnie Bell –Mississippi House
  • Representative Russ Nowell – Mississippi House
  • Representative Margaret Rogers – Mississippi House
  • Representative Bobby Shows – Mississippi House
  • Representative Jeff Smith – Mississippi House
  • Senator Eldon Nygaard – South Dakota Senate
  • Representative J.M. Lozano – Texas House
  • Representative Aaron Pena – Texas House
  • Representative Allan Ritter – Texas House