GOPAC announces 2017 Class of Emerging Leaders

Arlington, Va (March 30, 2017) – Today, GOPAC announced its 2017 Class of Emerging Leaders, a list of promising legislators selected for their potential and ability to impact their state and the Republican Party.

“As we grow the roster of Republicans who are ready to lead in their state legislatures and run for higher office, our 2017 Class of Emerging Leaders exemplifies men and women focused on boosting their state’s efforts to create jobs and protect their communities. This year’s honorees join the members of Congress, statewide elected officials and state legislative leaders who have benefitted from our mission and programs. We welcome their involvement and are excited to help foster their success,” said GOPAC Chairman David Avella.

The Emerging Leaders program is a yearlong initiative to coach and develop state legislators from across the country on how to be effective legislative leaders. This year’s class will begin their involvement at the 7th Annual Emerging Leaders Summit, which takes place from June 12th to 15th. The Summit gives participants the opportunity to learn from policy experts, veteran lawmakers, communications professionals and seasoned political strategists as well as each other. These leaders return to their states better equipped to advance the ideas they are championing and prepare for the rigors of campaigning for higher office. To be selected, an Emerging Leader must be nominated by a member of the organization’s Legislative Leaders Advisory Board or the legislative leader in their state.


GOPAC’s 2017 Class of Emerging Leaders:
Alabama Senator Bill Hightower
Arizona Senator Steve Smith
Arkansas Senator Bart Hester
Indiana Senator Aaron Freeman
Kentucky Senator Julie Adams
Minnesota Senator Paul Anderson
Nebraska Senator Brett Lindstrom
Ohio Senator Frank LaRose
South Carolina Senator Scott Talley
Texas Senator Dawn Buckingham
Virginia Senator Glen Sturtevant
West Virginia Senator Ryan Weld
Wisconsin Senator Patrick Testin
Florida Representative Paul Renner
Georgia Representative Meagan Hanson
Indiana Representative Chris May
Kansas Representative Erin Davis
Michigan Representative Shane Hernandez
Mississippi Representative Jason White
Missouri Representative Holly Rehder
Nevada Assemblyman Keith Pickard
North Carolina Representative Josh Dobson
Ohio Representative Rick Carfagna
Oklahoma Representative Ryan Martinez
South Carolina Representative Joshua Putnam
Texas Representative Giovanni Capriglione
Wisconsin Representative Shannon Zimmerman

To learn more about the Class of 2017, visit our website at